Challenge 7: Patterns

   Ever try watching the sunset only to get lost in your thoughts and miss the whole thing anyway? Get lost to the point that you can no longer see or hear anything that’s going on around you?

image

   Once you get back from lala-land and your mind refocuses to your surroundings, you might (just like me) find yourself staring at at the endless Dubai sharjah traffic.. only to dive back into deep thought, contemplating the horror of having to drive though that traffic again tomorrow. *shivers*

    I remember the time when I thought that driving myself around would be so awesome and freeing.. hah, innocent little me.. if only I knew then what I know now. Or rather, if only I hadn’t pretended to not know what I already knew about the sleep inducingly slow traffic.

    I think I’ve adapted well to it by now though. I’ve managed to create a morning routine which starts with me trying to race my final alarm to get to my car before 6.22 am ( don’t ask.) Then it’s morning duas for twenty minutes followed by radio silence. No seriously, my car’s A/C sounds like an in between radio frequency.. sometimes I can hear it whispering to me.

     By now I’m stuck in really heavy traffic with nothing to do but break- release- break. Clearly I’ve started hallucinating at this point what with all the voices OR I’m ready to fall asleep on the wheel. This is when I bring out my secret weapon… Old music!

      Out come the old Script and John Mayer albums, stuff that I can sing along to. I couldn’t care less about the fact that the neighbouring drivers might think that I’m having a heart attack, what with the singing at the top of my lungs. I’m just trying my best not to nod off. This goes on for about an hour to an hour and a half until I finally reach my destination at 8.30. That’s right folks, TWO HOURS and that’s actually a minimum.

    I bet I’m not the only one though, I mean if I was then there wouldn’t be so much traffic and I wouldn’t be complaining =0

    It scares me how easily complaining comes to us. I want to smack myself for doing it, specially because this isn’t the first time but I just can’t seem to stop!

Complain-Recover-Repeat
-_-”

-War .

Leave a Reply

