Challenge 6: Something blue

For my something blue, I picked this paperweight/globe

image

     This is one of the shelves in a showcase my dad put together with much care and affection. The glove sets the mood for the pieces surrounding it and together they tell the story of our travels. Mind you, some of this stuff was gifted to us by family and friends but it fits in perfectly. Each piece has it’s own little story.

    The Taj Mahal replica in the centre was probably one of the first pieces from our ‘collection’. My parents bought it when they went to Agra to see the real thing back when they were young and I didn’t exist. I’ve seen plenty of photos of my mum in a pretty red dress flaunting her curly whirly hair, and dad with his totally G shades (I think that’s where I get my G-ness from).

The statues in the back were gifted to us by my uncle when he visited us from Nairobi. To me they symbolize family, love and unity.

The rocking chair in the right is a souvineer from our visit to Chandigarh, Punjab. That trip was really memorable for me. I was at the brink of starting a new journey ( I’d just been accepted into med school) and as far as I knew, it was supposed to be my last relaxing holiday. I still feel the med school stress is a bit overrated, I mean I’m still alive, aren’t I? It was the first time I’d been to a place that smelled so green.. I don’t know why but that’s just not something you expect or even think about before you visit a green land. Or maybe the lack of exposure to such terrain made it all the more striking to my senses.

You can see a bit of a plate with buildings painted on it towards the left. That was a gift from an old friend of dad’s. It shows all the main attractions of London. It’s almost as old as the Taj replica I think.

Then we’ve got the beer flask from Germany, which is another one of my uncle’s gifts from back when he went there a few years ago.

Then moving closer to the foreground we’ve got the Malaysia’s major buildings. This was a gift from my aunt when she came to visit us in the winter. I was meeting her for the second time and just like the first time we met, it felt like we’ve been living together for years. She brought two of my cousins with her and I must say, they inspired me to be a better me. Those guys are just so humble in their ways that I felt like a total brat. It was sop much fun showing them around Dubai. I love to see people’s reactions as they soak in the sights, simply because they don’t have the same effect on us because we live here. It’s so refreshing to see someone appreciate what is truly a work of art.

Finally, the replica of the Kuwait towers. That’s from when we went to visit my uncle in Kuwait. What can I say, we just can’t get enough of each other (yes, this is the same uncle who brought the stuff from Nairobi and Germany). Perhaps I don’t say this enough, or maybe I do but anyway, him and his family are very close to my heart. I think in the absence of my parents, he’d be the first person I’d call for help.

I’m sitting in my bed with a slight smile on my face. Such happy memories. I’m afraid the shell is getting a bit overcrowded and hopefully we have many more adventures yet to come. Wonder where we’ll put the new stuff then….

-War.

2 thoughts on “Challenge 6: Something blue

Leave a Reply

