Stranger

So, as promised, I’m going to tell you guys about that old man I ment for 3 seconds, whom I probably shall not forget…Ever.

I was coming back from my driving school. I had passed my assessment test that day and was in really high spirits. I didn’t even mind that the bus driver dropped me a little farther away from my building than usual.

So here I am, skipping and humming my way home and I see this man climbing out of his car. Wait a sec, the words ‘Car’ is an understatement. He had a beautiful Red 1955 Chevy Bel Air (I looked it up… Worth it too.) I was still quite far from him, and I saw his step out of the car..and wow was he tall.

I watched him as I came closer and closer. He walked up to the parking meter. I realised just then that he had a slight limp. His salt and pepper (mostly salt) hair lightly tickled his forehead.

I watched him put a coin in the meter, and then saw the coin come right back out. Then again he tried, and again it was rejected. By the time he took a third try, I was about two steps away from him.

I stopped, feeling like I should help this old man.. You know, do something nice for someone. So I cleared my throat and said, ‘May I help you, sir?’ (Felt kinda stupid a nanosecond later when I realised that I sound like a sales person)

At first he didn’t hear me. I don’t blame him, I mean, would you really expect someone to just come up to you and talk to you out of the blue? So anyway, I asked him again, a little louder this time. He turned towards me with a confised look, and I couldn’t help but stare at him.

What froze me were his beautiful blue grey eyes, like a gathering storm. I’d only read that description in books, and couldn’t bring myself to picture it…but I understood it perfectly now. It wasn’t just the colour of them either, his eyes held the look of a man who’s seen a lot, and been through it all. Like he knew something about this world that the rest of us did not.

He looked either Lebanese or Syrian I’m not sure. He had a slight stubble and a long-ish face. A fair complexion with a scar on his left cheek… some would call it ugly but I think it gave him personality XD

Anyhow, once everything worked out, I turned to leave, thinking, ‘well, that felt freeing.’ As I walked towards my home, I started thinking about whether or not he would ever look back at today and think about my randomness, or if he’d even remember my face. I turned around to take one last look at him before entering the reception area, to find him gone… Just like that…

The next day I saw the same car on my way back again. I looked around to see if I could find him, but had no such luck..

How’d this unnecessarily elongated incident change me? It was the eyes of course! They made me realise that the tiny, seemingly improbable descriptions in random novels that I have read aren’t just a fragment of someone’s imagination. It gave me hope for the world.

War.

-B.O.L.

P.S. I swear I’m not crazy.

 

6 thoughts on “Stranger

Leave a Reply

