Lazy

As you all know really well, the world of science is always coming up with new studies, new discoveries and new or easier ways of doing things. In the case of Medical experimentation, I’m talking about this because I am in that field, there are always new techniques to be learned. More advanced instruments are always being developed, to provide more precision, comfort and to make procedures easier in general. And of course there’s always the researches going on to develop new drugs and procedures to cure diseases that we didn’t posses a cure for, not so long ago.

The whole point of me saying all that was this:

Ever since uni started, we (most of my batch) have been complaining about how we barely do anything extracurricular. It’s true, we don’t, except for the trip that we get to go to once every semester…

So, this morning, Dr. Don’t-Pick-Me asked us if we knew about this competition that was coming up, about Thalassemia. Thalassemia is basically a blood disorder, passed down through families (inherited) in which the body makes an abnormal form of hemoglobin, the protein in red blood cells that carries oxygen. The disorder results in excessive destruction of red blood cells, which leads to anemia.

Now, I didn’t remember hearing about it at first, but then I remembered that I had seen posters around uni, but never really paid any attention to them.

So while the doctor was telling us that we should step up, and use our heads, and talk to them if we need any help in gathering info for the competition, a few thoughts crossed my mind..

Firstly, that we’re too wrapped up in work to do anything extra. And whenever we aren’t studying, we’d rather sleep.

Secondly, that…well.. refer to point #1..

Thirdly, if I did this, it would look good on my resume… But I still can’t be bothered.. There’s loads of time to go until the end of my FIVE YEARS…I’ll do something later..

And lastly WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH ME?!?! I could, or rather SHOULD, make time for things like these. It will help me increase my knowledge and would drive me to take part in things more interesting than just my text books. I mean, this could determine how I take on studies later in life. For example, when I start practicing (Inshallah), a new technique is developed, an easier and safer way to do a very complicated procedure. Now, if I would think like how I initially did (L-A-Z-Y) I would never be able to take some time out and get a Diploma in that procedure. This would mean that I am literally a step behind those working in the same area as me. And that would mean that I am not serving my patients conveniently enough..which in turn could mean that I don’t care enough…Oh Oh! AND, I think it’s totally silly to just thin about grades and resume’s and things all the time…sometimes you just need to do things for the heck of it.

Sooo, I’ve decided to take a look at this thing, and see if I can work something out, and if my mid-term exam dates co-operate with me.

Umm… you must realize that I might not end up doing it…but at least I’m trying to make myself think more productively…Right? I promise myself to study a bit about Thalassemia any way though… Just to tell myself that I made an effort..

Sound like a total nerd don’t I? Shoot me (notice sarcasm).

Hope I can keep my promise!

War.

-B.O.L.

P.S. Dr. Don’t-Pick-Me picked me twice today, and called Mary and I excellent too (!!!!!!)… I think sitting right at the back did the trick.. Cuz it’s sorta like an unwritten rule, the backbenchers never answer. so I must have stood out like a sore thumb!

Leave a Reply

